Right after an unfortunate auto accident in California, you may have many questions in mind. The immediate shock and trauma can be hard to deal with, and if you are seriously injured, getting medical attention should be your top concern. Injuries caused by car crashes often show up weeks later, and in some cases, that can take months in healing. If you need help with your car wreck case, consider talking to a personal injury lawyer. In this post, we are answering the top questions related to auto accidents in California.
What to do after a car accident?
Pull over and get to a safer place. Consider calling the local police immediately, and if someone needs immediate medical help, call 911 without delay. Take as many photographs and videos of the accident scene as possible, provided you feel physically okay. Share information with other drivers, and get details such as insurance and license information. Note down the details of witnesses, if any. Learn more about Car crash at https://make-7.com
Should you hire an auto accident lawyer?
Although not mandatory, seeking legal advice after a California car crash is a wise idea. If your injuries are minor or the losses can be covered from your insurance, you may consider filing a claim on your own. California is a fault state, so you can consider filing an insurance claim with the at-fault party’s insurer, and before you do so, it is wise to speak to an attorney. They can advise on your circumstances and the worth of your claim.
How much time do you have to file an injury lawsuit?
The statute of limitations in California states the deadline for injury lawsuits after an accident. If you lost a loved one, a wrongful death lawsuit could be filed within two years. The same deadline is applicable for injury lawsuits. For property damage lawsuits, the statute of limitations allows three years from the date of the accident.
What if you were at fault?
California is a pure comparative negligence state. Your percentage of fault will determine what you eventually get in compensation. You can file a personal injury lawsuit, even if your share of fault is more than the other party. For example, if you get $10,000 in settlement and are 70% at fault, you can still recover $3,000. However, the other party will likely initiate action and ask for compensation for their losses since you are at fault.
Check online now to find more on car accident laws in California and call an attorney without delay.